Works

A Sincere Act of Love

​ 

Pull me by the hair to the backyard,

Have me kneel before the shallow grave

And put a bullet through my head.

When my eyes are open

And they sleep,

I want to end them with a pillow to the head

Or poison in a cup

My own little ‘mommy’s special recipe’.

It’s the nagging

The chaos

The little fights

The soul draining routine

The rearing and the roaring of little demons.

Then the love

The wonder

The memories

The hope

The reasons

Escape me…

Now, pull that trigger

And bury me with the pets.

When they ask you must tell them the truth, husband.

You tell them the truth. 

There is no shame in that.

Leave a Reply

